Nowadays, most of the messaging apps have a common feature and that is read receipts. Every app gives you the notification that the other person has read the message that you had sent.
If you have used WhatsApp then you know that the person you are having a chat with can see that whether you have read the messages they have sent or not. Users are notified by tick marks.
A single tick appears when the message is sent, a double tick appears when the message is delivered to the receiver and blue double tick appears when the person has opened and the read the message that you had sent.
There are times when you want to read the messages sent from other but don’t want them to find out. Lucky for us, WhatsApp has a feature which allows us to disable the read receipts. Read on how you can turn off the read receipts feature so, you can read the messages without the Sender knowing about it.
How to Disable Read Receipts in WhatsApp
- Launch WhatsApp on your device.
- Go to Settings > Account > Privacy.
- At the bottom, you will find Read Receipts Option(enabled by default), disable it.
Now, no one will know that you read their messages but keep in mind that whilst others won’t get notified that you read their messages, same goes for you. If any other user reads the messages sent by you then you won’t get notified about it too.
If at any time you wish to view the read receipts again then you can re-enable it by following the same steps as above.
That’s all you have to do to disable the read receipts in WhatsApp.